聚合物和微塑料

microplastics-hero-shot-1024.jpg

它们有哪些作用?

聚合物可以是天然的或合成的。天然聚合物对所有生物体都至关重要。这些大分子包含DNA和淀粉等物质,由小分子相同重复链的长链形成。合成聚合物模拟自然界中的聚合物,类似于可以组合在一起以构成新形状的积木一样,形成具有多种特性的成分。

个人护理产品会采用天然和合成聚合物。这些聚合物可用于为化妆品或散粉带来柔软丝滑的质感、帮助防晒霜等产品附着在皮肤上、改善肥皂和洗发水等需要洗掉的产品的质地,或用于抗衰老产品中以淡化皱纹。

大多数合成聚合物为液体、蜡或凝胶形式——并非所有聚合物都是塑料。其他塑料颗粒(通常称为“微塑料”)或由较大的塑料在环境中分解而来,或是出于特定目的而产生的,例如用在护肤产品中以去除角质。自2017年起,我们已在全球范围内主动去除了这些微塑性去角质剂。

我们的立场?

聚合物
重要的是要注意,并非所有聚合物都是塑料。实际上,天然和合成聚合物都可以具有安全的环境特征。非塑料聚合物是一种多功能成分,可以极大地改善许多食品、药品和个人护理产品的使用体验。我们支持使用非塑料天然和合成聚合物,并认为必须对它们进行单独评估,以避免将对环境安全的成分误分类为污染物。

微塑料
我们的“安全与关爱承诺”意味着,我们将不断发展我们的政策和产品,不仅要反映最新的科学和新法规,而且还要以科学为依据,满足消费者的偏好。

我们认识到,并与您同样关注环境中的塑料和微塑料成分。我们正在评估所有聚合物成分的环境安全性,并提出具有科学依据的建议。我们正在与贸易协会积极合作,支持以科学为依据制定政策和做出有关此类成分的决策。

我们不使用哪些防腐剂?

我们的目标是让您放心,我们的产品对人体和环境无害。考虑到这一点,我们领导个人护理行业自愿承诺在2013年从我们的产品中去除塑料微珠。我们支持禁止使用塑料微珠的美国2015年《无塑料微珠水域法》,并在2017年按承诺完成了全球配方重新设计。

此外,我们还禁止在新产品开发中使用其他几种塑料成分:PTFE、PMMA、尼龙-12(和其他尼龙成分)、聚氨酯、聚乙烯、氧化聚乙烯、聚环氧乙烷、聚对苯二甲酸乙二醇酯(PET)、聚丙烯、对苯二甲酸丙二醇酯和甲基丙烯酸甲酯交联聚合物。

我们还有其他一些包含PTFE、PMMA、尼龙-12和聚氨酯的传统产品,并且正在积极开发符合我们卓越人类和环境健康标准的替代产品。

Polymers and Microplastics

microplastics-hero-shot-1024.jpg

What are they for?

Polymers can be either natural or synthetic. Natural polymers are critical to all life. These large molecules include things like DNA and starch and are formed by long chains of identical repeating links of smaller molecules. Synthetic polymers mimic those in nature, acting like building blocks that can be stuck together to form new shapes that create ingredients with a wide range of characteristics.

Both natural and synthetic polymers are used in personal care products. Some are used to add a soft, silky feel to cosmetics or loose powders, to help products like sunscreen adhere to the skin, to improve the texture of rinse-off products like soap and shampoo, or in anti-aging products to reduce the appearance of wrinkles.

Most synthetic polymers take the form of liquids, waxes or gels – not all polymers are plastic. Other plastic particles, commonly refered to as “microplastics,” are either the result of larger plastics breaking down in the environment or created for a specific purpose, such as for exfoliation in skin care products. We proactively removed these microplastic exfoliants globally as of 2017.

Where do we stand?

On Polymers
It is very important to note that not all polymers are plastic. In fact, both natural and synthetic polymers can have safe environmental profiles. Non-plastic polymers are versatile ingredients that greatly improve your experiences with many food, pharmaceutical, and personal care products. We support use of non-plastic natural and synthetic polymers and believe they must be assessed individually to avoid miscategorizing environmentally safe ingredients as pollutants.

On Microplastics
Our Safety & Care Commitment means we continually evolve our policies and products to reflect not only the latest science and new regulations, but also to address consumer preferences in a way that is supported by science.

We recognize and share concerns you may have about plastic and microplastic ingredients in the environment. We are in the process of evaluating the environmental safety of all our polymeric ingredients and have developed recommendations based on sound science. We are actively working with trade associations to support scientifically based policy definitions and decision-making about this category of ingredients.

What do we NOT use?

Our goal is to give you peace of mind that our products are both gentle for your personal use and for the environment. With that in mind, we led the personal care industry in voluntarily committing to remove plastic microbeads from our products globally in 2013. We supported the US Microbead-Free Waters Act of 2015 that banned plastic microbeads and, in 2017, we completed our global reformulation as promised.

Further, we have prohibited the use of several other plastic ingredients in new product development: PTFE, PMMA, Nylon-12 (and other nylon ingredients), Polyurethane, Polyethylene, Oxidized polyethylene, Polyethylene oxide, Polyethylene terephthalate (PET), Polypropylene, Polypropylene terephthalate, and Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer.

We have a few remaining legacy products that contain PTFE, PMMA, Nylon-12 and Polyurethane, and are actively developing replacements that meet our high standards for human and environmental health.