防腐剂

berries.png

它们有哪些作用?

  • 几乎所有含水物质都会滋生微生物。因此,我们认为必须保护含水的个人护理产品,以防止有害霉菌和细菌滋生。而我们的防腐剂正是为此而设计。
  • 在婴儿和美容个人护理产品中添加防腐剂有助于避免在个人护理产品的使用期间滋生有害霉菌和细菌。
  • 当今的许多防腐剂都是在自然界中发现的。例如,对羟苯甲酸酯是在蓝莓和胡萝卜中发现的,它是大自然用于防止水果和蔬菜变质的方法。
  • 我们的安全保证流程会测试防腐剂,以确保其温和性并避免潜在的刺激。这不仅包括研究消费者如何使用该产品,还包括考虑其在您的家中如何存储。

我们的立场?

防腐剂对于水基个人护理产品至关重要。没有防腐剂,您所依赖的日常用品可能会在数周甚至数天内失效。在我们将其用于产品之前,每种防腐剂都必须符合政府法规并通过我们的安全保证流程。

在将任何一种防腐剂添加至产品之前,我们都必须确保其符合我们安全保证流程的要求。鉴于此,我们允许在产品中添加的防腐剂含量远远低于监管机构规定的限值。

我们不使用哪些防腐剂?

许多防腐剂不符合我们的安全和护理标准。我们不会在任何产品中使用的防腐剂包括溴氯苯、甲醛、多聚甲醛、甲酸、溴苯酚、二氯苄醇、三氯卡巴烷、对氯间甲酚、三氯生、甲基苯二胺、酮康唑、柠檬酸银、硫柳汞、氯乙酰胺、5-溴-5-硝基-1、3-二恶烷、对羟基苯甲酸丁酯、对羟基苯甲酸异丁酯和对羟基苯甲酸苄酯。此外,不符合我们婴儿产品标准的防腐剂还包括对羟基苯甲酸甲酯、对羟基苯甲酸乙酯、对羟基苯甲酸丙酯、碘丙炔基丁基氨基甲酸酯、季铵盐-15、DMDM乙内酰脲、咪唑烷基二脲和重氮烷基二脲。

我们会使用哪些防腐剂?

由于防腐剂是必不可少的,并且用于多种个人护理产品,因此为特定的配方选择理想的防腐剂非常重要,同时还要避免任何一种防腐剂过度使用和过度暴露的可能性。为此,我们要保持成分安全,并考虑到我们产品需要的各种防腐成分。符合我们的安全和护理标准的防腐剂包括苯甲酸钠、苯甲酸、苯氧乙醇、苯甲醇、氯酚素;以及用于成人产品的对羟基苯甲酸甲酯、对羟基苯甲酸乙酯和对羟基苯甲酸丙酯。当替代的防腐剂与配方中的其他成分不兼容时,我们在少数成人产品中使用DMDM乙内酰脲、咪唑烷基脲和重氮烷基脲。

对羟苯甲酸酯

美国化妆品成分安全评估专家小组*对个人护理产品中对羟苯甲酸酯的使用进行了审查并得出结论,其含量不超过1%时是安全的。欧盟法规要求对羟苯甲酸酯的含量不得超过0.8%,对羟基苯甲酸丙酯的含量不得超过0.18%。在我们制造的含有对羟苯甲酸酯的产品中,其含量低于欧盟和美国现行法规的规定。

我们在世界各地的婴儿个人护理产品均不含对羟苯甲酸酯。对于成人美容个人护理产品,新产品中的对羟苯甲酸酯仅限于甲基、乙基和丙基对羟苯甲酸,这类对羟苯甲酸酯已经过广泛的安全性研究,并得到了世界各地监管机构的支持。我们的美容个人护理产品中不含其他类型的对羟苯甲酸酯。

甲醛缓释体类防腐剂

尽管甲醛缓释体类防腐剂可安全应用于精心配制的化妆品,但我们听取了消费者的意见,因此,我们销往全球的婴儿个人护理产品中不再含有甲醛缓释体类防腐剂。同样地,只有当替代品无法与其他成分结合使用或者不安全时,我们才会在美容个人护理产品中添加甲醛缓释体类防腐剂。

详细了解我们的案例

Preservatives

berries.png

What are they for?

  • Microorganisms can grow in almost anything that contains water. Because of this, we believe that personal care products that contain water need to be protected to guard against the growth of harmful mold and bacteria. That’s where our preservatives come in.
  • Preservatives are added to baby and beauty personal care products to avoid harmful mold and bacteria that could build up in personal care products over time.
  • Many preservatives available today are found in nature. Parabens, for example, are found in blueberries and carrots – it’s nature’s way of preventing spoilage in fruits and vegetables.
  • Our safety assurance process tests preservatives to ensure mildness and avoid potential irritation. This includes not only studying how a consumer might use the product but also considers the way they may be stored in your home.

Where do we stand?

Preservatives are essential to water- based personal care products. Without them, everyday products you’ve come to rely on could expire within weeks or even days. Every preservative must meet government regulations and pass our safety assurance process before we will use it in our products.

Every preservative must clear our safety assurance process before we’ll allow it in one of our products. As a result, the preservative amounts we allow in our products are far below the limits set by regulators.

What do we NOT use?

Many preservatives do not meet our safety and care standards. Examples of preservatives that we will not use in any product include bromochlorophen, formaldehyde, paraformaldehyde, formic acid, bronopol, dichlorobenzyl alcohol, triclocarban, p-chloro-m-cresol, triclosan, methenamine, ketoconazole, silver citrate, thimerosal, chloroacetamide, 5-bromo-5-nitro-1,3-dioxane, butylparaben, isobutylparaben, and benzylparaben. In addition, examples of preservatives that don’t meet our standards for baby products also include methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, quaternium-15, DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea, and diazolidinyl urea.

What do we use?

As preservatives are essential and used in wide range of personal care products, it’s important that we choose the ideal preservatives for a given formula, and at the same time avoid the potential of overuse and overexposure to any single preservative. We do this by maintaining a safe palette of ingredients that takes into account the need for a diverse array of preservative ingredients for our products. Examples of preservatives that meet our safety and care standards include sodium benzoate, benzoic acid, phenoxyethanol, benzyl alcohol, chlorophenesin; and methylparaben, ethylparaben, and propylparaben for adult products. When alternative preservatives are incompatible with other ingredients in the formula, we use DMDM hydantoin, imidazolidinyl urea, and diazolidinyl urea in a small number of adult products.

Parabens

The Expert Panel of the U.S. Cosmetic Ingredient Review* has reviewed the use of parabens in personal care products and concluded they are safe at levels up to one percent. EU regulations require that parabens not exceed 0.8 percent and for propylparaben not to exceed 0.18 percent. In the products we make that contain parabens, they are present at levels below the current E.U. and U.S. regulations.

None of our baby personal care products worldwide contain any parabens. For adult beauty personal care products, parabens in new products are restricted to methyl, ethyl and propyl parabens, which have been extensively studied for safety and are supported by regulatory authorities around the world. No other type of parabens exist in our beauty personal care products.

Formaldehyde Releasing Preservatives

While formaldehyde releasing preservatives are safe when used in well formulated cosmetic products, we listened to our consumers, and as a result, our baby personal care products worldwide no longer include formaldehyde-releasing preservatives. Similarly, you’ll only see formaldehyde-releasing preservatives in beauty personal care products when alternatives are not feasible or safe when combined with other ingredients.

Learn more about our story