GAIA主导

Global Aquatic Ingredient Assessment™ (GAIA)

什么是GAIA?


维护您和地球的安全是我们的首要任务。我们的科学家不懈努力,以不断降低我们的产品对环境的影响,同时为每天使用我们产品的家庭带来最佳结果。因此,几年前,Johnson & Johnson Consumer Health与外部专家和广泛的利益相关者合作打造出一款名为Global Aquatic Ingredient Assessment™ (GAIA)的工具并申请了专利。GAIA可帮助我们评估产品中成分的潜在环境影响,以便了解更好的选择。

GAIA独一无二,与其他评估工具和模型的不同之处在于,它汇集了内部和外部多种来源的数据,包括同行评审的科学研究和政府数据库。这项获得专利的工具是一项突破性概念,可以全面了解成分和产品配方,从而使我们能够不断改进产品——这与许多模型有所不同,在评估环境影响时,这些模型有时只关注产品的一个或几个方面。


公众之间也普遍认为,纯天然成分对环境有益,而所有合成材料均对环境不利。当然,这是一个笼统的看法。如果含量高或用错了地方,即使是自然物质(例如重金属或微生物)也会引起环境问题。而且在许多情况下,实验室制造的材料经过设计也能具有出色的环境特性和性能。因此,GAIA关注属性,而非成见。



GAIA如何使用?


GAIA分析一种成分可能对水生环境造成的影响,重点关注生活在水生环境中的鱼类和植物物种。它按照0-100对成分进行评分,其中100代表最佳环境评分。得分为80或以上的成分对我们的湿地、河流、湖泊和沿海河口的潜在影响最小,而得分为60至79的成分对水生生物的潜在影响很小。分数低于60的成分需要接受额外的审查、风险评估,在某些情况下还需要另外进行环境测试。

我们已经使用GAIA工具对几乎所有成分进行了评分,并且正在努力完成对其余成分的评分。在某些情况下,GAIA分数有助于指导我们决定从产品组合中去除哪些成分,以及哪些成分需要提供更多信息,才能让您在使用我们的产品时感到放心。此流程还可支持各种各样的安全、管理和可持续发展计划。例如,GAIA帮助我们的配方设计师就最佳成分做出明智的决定,从而有助于打造更环保的配方。当为持续改进产品而评估成分时,我们使用GAIA确定需要进行环境风险评估的领域以及当前和未来产品的相关政策。GAIA还可以帮助我们回答您有关我们产品及其成分的环保性能的问题。

为了最大程度地降低产品对环境的影响,我们还与供应商共享GAIA数据(包括已上市或开发中的成分),以便供应商也可以在我们的创新平台和供应商合作的背景下发挥重要作用。

GAIA及其方法对我们来说是一种简单透明的方式,让我们不仅可以与消费者分享产品的成分和对地球的影响,而且还可以与其他行业人士分享内部以及外部科学家关于如何共同努力,以改善和减少我们对地球的影响的最佳思路。


GAIA如何发挥作用?

1. 收集数据
GAIA流程使用我们了解到的成分持效性*、生物蓄积性和毒性(PBT)以及内在的化学特性来计算成分分数,这样无论哪家供应商,分数都能始终保持一致。

我们的许多成分都有P、B和T属性的数据,因此GAIA可以进行直接比较,并鼓励配方设计师在其他条件相同的情况下选择最佳成分。此信息来自各种来源,包括行业和公共资源,例如美国国立卫生研究院的TOXNET和欧洲化学品管理局数据库。
2. 将数据转换为分数
P、B和T属性的数据都转换为100分制的分数,然后合并以得出成分的PBT总分:50%来自持效性,25%来自生物蓄积性,25%来自生态毒性。持效性的权重较高,因为快速降解会限制生物蓄积和生态毒性的影响。

3. 计算成分得分
最终分数是介于零和100之间的一个数字。分数越高,意味着越有利于环境安全。

在某些情况下,无法获得已发布的数据,因此我们会使用建模数据,并且分数会由于不确定性而降低(例如,当使用计算机模型来填补经验数据中的空缺时)。

4. 计算最终产品得分
除了成分之外,GAIA还会使用产品中所有成分的质量加权平均值来生成成品分数(FPS)。这个100分制得分用于指导有关是否发布产品的决策。

持效性是指某种物质分解所需的时间。如果某些物质易于生物降解,那么它会迅速被环境(或废水处理设施)中的微生物分解。某些物质会在空气中(氧化)或暴露于阳光下时分解。矿物质和类似沙子的物质可能会变小,但其化学成分不会变化,因此这些物质通常被认为具有持效性。因此,我们还要研究其他方面,例如生物蓄积,它衡量一种成分摄入的速率是否高于其代谢或排出的速率。随着时间的流逝,某些化学物质会在生物体内积累,而在食物链上的位置越高,生物蓄积性就越强。如果这些化学物质具有毒性,那么随着时间的流逝,问题就会变得更加严重,有毒物质会传播给其他生物。这就是为什么典型的PBT评估会考虑不同生态水平的原因——典型生物包括藻类、小型水生甲壳类动物和鱼类。

GAIA-lead

Global Aquatic Ingredient Assessment™ (GAIA)

What is GAIA?


Your safety and the safety of our planet is our priority. Our scientists work tirelessly to continuously improve the impact of our products in the environment while at the same time delivering the best possible outcomes for families that use our products every day. That is why a few years ago, Johnson & Johnson Consumer Health, in collaboration with outside experts and a wide range of stakeholders, created and patented a tool we call the Global Aquatic Ingredient Assessment™ (GAIA) protocol. GAIA helps us assess the potential environmental impact of ingredients in our products to inform better choices.

What makes GAIA unique and distinct from other assessment tools and models is that it aggregates data from a multitude of internal and external sources, including scientific peer-review studies and government databases. This patented tool is a breakthrough concept that enables a comprehensive look at both ingredients and product formulations that allows us to continuously improve our products -- unlike many models that sometimes just looks at one or a few aspects of products when they assess environmental impact.


There is also a common belief amongst the general public that all-natural ingredients are good for the environment and all synthetics are bad for the environment. This, of course, is a generalization. At high levels or in the wrong places, even natural substances, such as heavy metals or microorganisms, also present environmental concerns. And in many cases, lab made materials can be designed with superior environmental properties and performance. That’s why GAIA focuses on properties and not preconceptions.



How is GAIA used?


GAIA analyzes the impact an ingredient might have on an aquatic environment, focusing on the fish and plant species that live there. It scores ingredients on a scale from 0-100, with 100 representing the best environmental score. Ingredients that score 80 or above mean that they have minimal potential impact on our wetlands, rivers, lakes, and coastal estuaries, while ingredients that score 60 to 79 mean that they have low potential aquatic impacts. Ingredients with scores below 60 require additional review, risk assessment, and in some cases additional environmental testing.

We have scored almost all of our ingredients using the GAIA tool, and are working to finish scoring the remaining ingredients. In some cases, GAIA scores have helped guide decisions about what ingredients to remove from our portfolio, and which ones require more information in order to feel good about using in our products. This process supports a wide array of safety, stewardship, and sustainability programs. For example, GAIA helps our formulators make smart decisions about the best ingredients that help to create more environmentally friendly formulations. When we assess ingredients as part of our continuous product improvement, we use GAIA to identify areas for environmental risk assessments and related policies for current and future products. GAIA also helps us respond to your questions related to the environmental performance of our products and their ingredients.

To maximize our improvement of the environmental impact of our products we also share GAIA data with our suppliers on their ingredients, commercial or in development, so that they too can play an important role within the context of our innovation platforms and supplier collaborations.

GAIA and its approach is a transparent way for us to not only share with consumers what goes into their products and into the planet but it is also away for us to share with the rest of the industry the best thinking of our and external scientists on how we can all work together to improve and reduce our impact on the planet.


How does GAIA work?

1. GATHER DATA
The GAIA process calculates an ingredient score using what we know about the persistence*, bioaccumulation, and toxicity (PBT) properties of an ingredient, using intrinsic chemical properties so that scores are consistent over time, regardless of supplier.

Data for P, B, and T properties exist for a large number of our ingredients, so GAIA makes it possible to make direct comparisons and encourage formulators to choose the best ingredients when all else is equal. This information comes from various sources including industry and public resources like the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s TOXNET and the European Chemicals Agency database.
2. CONVERT DATA INTO A NUMERIC SCORE
Data for each of the P, B and T properties are converted to a 100-point scale, and then combined to create an aggregate PBT score for the ingredient: 50% from persistence, 25% from bioaccumulation, and 25% from ecotoxicity. Persistence is weighted higher because rapid degradation limits the effects of bioaccumulation and ecotoxicity.

3. CALCULATE INGREDIENT SCORE
The final score is a single number between zero and 100. A higher score means more favorable environmental safety characteristics.

In some cases, published data are not available, and so we use modeled data, and scores are reduced for uncertainty (e.g., when in silico models are used to fill gaps in the empirical data).

4. CALCULATE FINAL PRODUCT SCORE
Beyond ingredients, GAIA uses a mass-weighted average of all the ingredients in a product to generate the Finished Product Score (FPS). The 100-point scale is used to guide decisions about whether to release the product.

Persistence refers to the time it takes for something to break down. If something is easily biodegradable, then it is quickly broken down bio microorganisms in the environment (or wastewater facility.) Some things may also breakdown when in air (oxidize) or when exposed to sunlight. Minerals and things like sand may get smaller, but they do not change their chemical composition, therefore they are generally considered persistent. This is why we also look at other aspects like bioaccumulation, which is a measure of whether an ingredient is taken up at a higher rate than it is metabolized or excreted. Some chemicals will build up in an organism over time, and this can magnify as you move up the food chain. If those chemicals are associated with toxicity, then the problem gets worse over time, and the toxic does is passed on to other organisms. This is why typical PBT assessments look at different ecological levels – model organisms are algae, a small aquatic crustacean, and fish.